I never found the middle way

pere-magloire-on-the-road-to-saint-clair-etretat-1884

I never found the middle way
but always maintained a balance.
I never had anything to say
but always took a stance.

I never spent a night or day
in happiness or under stress.
I never felt sad or gay,
being more or doing less.

I never went to church or mosque
but always lived in little hells.
I never found what I lost
nor in deserts, springs or wells.

I never wanted to be misunderstood
and even less to be understood.
I think I could but never would
to understand the misunderstood.

I never smiled in open air
but always wept in secret.
I never had a word to share
but always plenty to regret.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “I never found the middle way

  1. Your poetry is unique, it is Heart Touching! ❤

  2. writethesoul

    You are raw poetry.
    -P.

  3. shawnworth

    This is a great piece.

  4. I never found the middle way neither…Your words describe perfectly how I feel..you just touched my soul. Keep on writing because you do an amazing job.

  5. You never lost it either!

Leave a comment