I forgot myself but I remembered dreaming

man-with-a-feather-1943

I forgot myself but I remembered dreaming,
walking in circles and singing proudly,
laughing and smiling, embracing nothing,
so blindly, kindly and idly.

I forgot myself but I remembered breathing,
inhaling colors and exhaling tinges,
gasping and gulping, sobbing ashes,
embers, powders and lashes.

I forgot myself but I remembered seeking,
searching in clouds, looking for something,
hunting and probing, tracing shadows,
trailing spiders, insects, eagles and doves.

I forgot myself but I remembered seeing,
noticing things and perceiving forms,
witnessing and viewing, peeping through a hole,
look, there hides my soul.

I forgot myself but I remembered hearing,
reviving stillness and catching voices,
listening and learning, expecting blank leaflets,
blankets, faces and noises.

I forgot myself but I remembered sleeping,
resting in uproar and slumbering in havoc,
dozing and napping, never waking,
snoring and yawning, always running amok.

I forgot myself but I remembered needing,
desiring beauty and craving fire,
lacking and yearning, transpiring spirits,
admiring absence, demanding mire.

I forgot myself but I remembered speaking,
saying freely and talking to a pillow,
humming and drumming, muttering echo,
nothing, nothing and nothing.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “I forgot myself but I remembered dreaming

  1. Like this!! You are unforgettable!

  2. To remember is bliss ! Beautifully written is your poetry …xx

  3. This is beautifully written. The idea of our dreams reaching for us, pulling us back to ourselves is amazing

Leave a Reply

