Words that inspire: I’m helping to build a cathedral

sketch-to-the-portrait-of-a-builder

It surprises me how often we hold ourselves back until we have no choice.

….

Three guys laying bricks are asked why they’re doing it. The first guy says, “I’m doing it for the wages.” The second guy says, “I’m doing it to support my family.” The third guy says: “I’m helping to build a cathedral.”

….

Put your dream in a lockbox, go out and make Fuck You money, then come back to the lockbox and pick up where you left off. I met plenty who tried, but none who succeeded.

….

Seek out that at which you might fail. And just keep going. Take more risk. Plow ahead.

….

Is it better to succeed at something you don’t really believe in, or is it better to fail at something you really do believe in?

Our fears should be attacked, not run from. From our deepest wounds come our greatest gifts.

The things we really want to do are usually the ones that scare us the most.

Usually, all we get is a glimmer. A story we read or someone we briefly met. A curiosity. A meek voice inside, whispering. It’s up to us to hammer out the rest.

 

*Quotations above are taken from Po Bronson’s “What should I do with my life?”

** Painting “Sketch to the portrait of a builder” by Kazimir Malevich

1 Comment

Filed under quotes, Uncategorized, Words of Wisdom

One response to “Words that inspire: I’m helping to build a cathedral

  1. Pingback: Words that inspire: I’m helping to build a cathedral – Ten Thousand Post-its

Leave a comment