You pass me by

harlequinade-1911.jpg!Large

I walk the street. You pass me by.
Our eyes meet. You pass me by.
We laugh, we smile.You pass me by.
And all this while you pass me by.

Seconds run and pass me by.
One by one. They pass me by.
Silently they pass me by.
For what, I ask, they pass me by?

Stop, I beg, don’t pass me by.
Walk nearby, don’t pass me by.
Unknowingly you pass me by.
Why do you always pass me by?

Let us rest and pass me by.
Be my guest and pass me by.
Bravely go and pass me by.
Don’t look back and pass me by.

 

*Painting “Harlequinade” by Albert Bloch, 1911.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “You pass me by

  1. Wonderful use of repetition 🙂 Nice poem!

Leave a Reply

