I hear the sounds of one hand clapping

left-hand-with-the-index-finger

I hear the sounds of one hand clapping
and point my finger to the moon.
My life in part I spend napping,
hoping not to wake up too soon.

I see this world through the windows
of my dark and blurred eyes.
What lies outside, who really knows?
Who can pretend to be so wise?

I listen to how people speak
about the current world affairs.
Have they found what they seek
and got an answer to their prayers?

I touch the sky with my fingertips
and breathe the universe in me.
With this life I’ve come to grips
as far as I can tell and see.

I catch my shadows in the nearby park
and try to get lost in the trees.
I dare to fail and miss my mark.
Thus to live in peace and ease.

*Painting “Left hand with the index finger” by Vasily Polenov, 1885.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “I hear the sounds of one hand clapping

  1. Sounds as though you have achieved some temporary contentment.

  2. Schön

    I like this poem, very nice! As someone who likes reading thousands of books at his study finally got the answer in his prayer.

Leave a Reply

