I wonder if I ever had known

the-farmer-1894

I wonder if I ever had known
how fragile is the hardest stone.
To wear and tear all things are prone.
So leave me now to die alone.

I wonder if I ever had a heart
to give away or to break apart.
Into the wind I throw my dart.
Where it lands, I care not a fart.

I wonder if I ever had a dream
to be a king and to reign supreme.
Twice I stepped into the same stream.
My life is not what it would seem.

I wonder if I ever had a soul
that I could neglect or control.
What does it matter, after all –
to see the parts but not the whole?

I wonder if I ever had a chance
to lag behind or to advance.
Under the open sky I live and dance,
I am awake and yet in trance.

*Painting – “The farmer” by Max Liebermann, 1894.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “I wonder if I ever had known

  1. Schön

    Your poem remind me of someone. Doubt not, in everything you are doing, trust in Him.

Leave a Reply

