Dear me, I know you understand

not-detected-277183

Dear me, I know you understand
that I am not at your command.
Your orders will not be obeyed,
Your throne is lost, I am afraid.

Dear me, I know you feel
that no one steers the wheel.
Your soul runs its own course
with all its might and force.

Dear me, I know you comprehend
that I am not your trustful friend.
Your name is just an empty noise
that disturbs my mind and poise.

Dear me, I know you care
that I don’t fall into despair.
How quickly then this all would end
if I had not much time to spend.

Dear me, I know you understand.
You’ll never reach the promised land.
Life is small but death is grand.
Dear me, I know you understand.

*Painting – Self-Portrait by David Wilkie 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

