Myself I do not understand

self-portrait-1916

Myself I do not understand.
Nothing ever goes as planned.
I try to live the best I can,
In this world I am a man.

Myself I do not really doubt,
I am dishonest yet devout.
My silver spoons will never bend,
nature has no final end.

Myself I do not really create,
I am a little quirk of fate.
The world is as it should be,
I am in chains and yet still free.

Myself I do not really trust.
I am driven by greed and lust.
The truth is found between the lies.
It always comes as a surprise.

I ask myself who is this man,
who lives his life the best he can?
Do I know you? From whence you came?
We are so different and yet the same.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Myself I do not understand

  1. Schön

    I agree with that” Myself I do not understand” Physically or Mentally? The poem with universal conclusion ” We are so different and yet the same ” I give the comment ” Excellent”

  2. This is one of your best poems. And great rhyme scheme by the way.

Leave a Reply

