I don’t need no prose or art

the-archduke-leopold-wilhelm-in-his-picture-gallery-in-brussels

I don’t need no prose or art
in which to soothe my drained heart.
Many fools have appeared smart –
be it Plato or Descartes.

I don’t need no words of praise
to set my tender mind ablaze.
A sly remark or a witty phrase
can lull my soul into sleep for days.

I don’t need no gods or saints
who would hear out my complaints.
I live my life without restraints,
despite my faults and my taints.

I don’t need no hopes or dreams
to know it’s more than what it seems.
The Moon has its secrets as Sun has its beams,
I walk the line between these two extremes.

I don’t need no love or trust
to feel vibrant and robust.
Within each flame, there reigns a frost.
When fire ends, what else is lost?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “I don’t need no prose or art

  1. Schön

    I like this poem. We do need love and trust in Him. The fire never ends.

Leave a Reply

