The greatest thoughts I ever had

the-spirit-of-the-dead-watches-1892

The greatest thoughts I ever had
were the ones I never clad
in shadows, gold, love or fad.
I never wore them, might I add.

The greatest soul I ever met
was the one I would forget.
I saw it only as a threat
to my wisdom, as of yet.

The greatest verse I ever wrote
was the one I couldn’t note.
It had no sense to denote,
it felt so strange and so remote.

The greatest story I ever heard
was the one without a word.
These silent gaps and lines so blurred,
so magnificent and so absurd.

The greatest books I ever read
were the ones from authors – dead.
I could not wrap around my head
what all their words had left unsaid.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “The greatest thoughts I ever had

  1. Exquisite! Luscious wordplay!

  2. Whenever I read your writes I get new squiggles on my brain. Marvelous.

  3. like the image… it’s got that Paul Gauguin feel

  4. Reblogged this on Michael's Lair and commented:
    “It had no sense to denote,
    it felt so strange and so remote.”
    This floats…

  5. Reblogged this on ofsenseandsensibility and commented:
    amazing by one of the greatest poets i’ve ever read both in technique and in heart

Leave a Reply

